1. billy hugon
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. Wednesday, 21 July 2021 18:47 PM UTC

Hello,

I logged a bug today but not yet resolved.  I've been using PB 2017 R3 for a couple of years and today I'm working along and when I closed a datawindow, PB hung up.  I had to kill with the task manager.  Now I cant get it to open.  I logged out and when I invoke PB it prompts me for my login and password.  Once I click Login, I see the PB icon at the bottom but the tool never opens.  They turned me over to the licensing dept but I wondered if anyone here could be of any help.  I removed/re-installed the version as well with the same results

Thanks

Miguel Leeuwe Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Thursday, 22 July 2021 15:04 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 1

Have you rebooted your machine?

Can you do an "analyze wait chain" or something like that:

- open the taskmanager (ctrl+shift+escape)
- click on the details tabpage
-

See what PID is locking or blocking and if there is one, find that one by it's number in the same details or services tabpage.

I'm wondering if maybe that printspool process is locking you out, which has happened several times to me:

"splwow64.exe".

I don't remember how I got rid of it, I think it just stopped happening after some reboots / windows updates.

good luck.

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
billy hugon Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Wednesday, 21 July 2021 19:49 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 2

They said everything looks fine on their end.  They suggested I re-install the software, which I did, but the same results.  I'm going to try and connect when I get back to my home to see if there is a connection issue from work.  I've never had this before, but that is the only thing I can think of now.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions.  I will reach back tomorrow

Comment
  1. Wednesday, 21 July 2021 19:24 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 3