1. amit kurhe
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. Thursday, 26 September 2019 19:07 PM UTC

I am new to powerbuilder supporting an old app getting some migration issues, one of code line extracted below giving the error accessing external object. what are the parameters i have to check to run this program or the code missing something. do i have to run any supporting software or active x control.  thanks 

OLEObject o1
string s1
o1 = CREATE OLEObject
s1="C:\TEST\testfile.avi"
o1.Object.Open(s1);  -- this line throwing error accessing object. 

amit kurhe Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Monday, 30 March 2020 16:14 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 1

thanks all, issue resolved after registering the MSCOMCT2.ocx which was missing the latest windows version & prerequiste for the animation control.

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
Michael Kramer Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Wednesday, 2 October 2019 23:55 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 2

Hi Amit,

OLEObject itself is just a proxy for talking to a COM object. Once created, you only have an empty proxy without content.

The proxy needs to connect to a COM object. That's where ConnectToNewObject comes into play. When that succeeds your proxy has access to that specific COM object.

You can access the COM object via the proxy using o1.object.XXX notation. Calling Open(string) requires your COM object has such a function. There are no compiler checks since COM calls are dynamic.

COM object's documentation should describe its API. Calling non-defined functions *WILL* throw exceptions.

AVI files are video files. So you need to make sure that your COM object knows how to handle AVI files. Like telling your XML parser to open a video: That action is probably undefined or leads to app crash.

NOTE

IF identical code runs on some machines but not on other machines - AND - the failing code involves OLEObject to access a COM object - THEN - My first attempt at solving the issue would be: