1. Daryl Foster
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. Tuesday, 15 February 2022 07:20 AM UTC

Hi, I just noticed an issue with the windows restore function I've been using without any problems for the past 10 years in PB10.5 and PB2017.  It seems that the Move function for a popup works differently in PB2019R3 when using multiple monitors.  In PB10.5 or PB2017 I could use w_popup.Move(0,0) and it would always move it relative to the virtual screen position.  Now with PB2019R3 it seems to move it relative to the screen the opening window is on.  e.g if the Parent window is on the first screen the popup will open at 0,0 (i.e the top left of the first/primary monitor).  But if the parent window is on the second screen it will open at 8777,0 (i.e the top left of the second monitor). I've seen a few bugs with similar sounding issues, but they all seem to be resolved.

I just wanted to check whether anyone else has encountered this issue, or whether it is a deliberate change?  I've only noticed it on one particular screen in my application at the moment, but I wanted to check if it is a know issue before investigating further.  I'm using Version 19.2.0.2728

Thanks.

Chris Pollach @Appeon Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Tuesday, 15 February 2022 18:38 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 1

Hi Daryl;

FWIW:  I have a Window restore feature in my STD Framework and it works 100% on 2 or 3 or more monitors and then proceeds to center Popup and Response windows accordingly from there (once the initial monitor is known). This logic has been working for about a decade now and it is also working still in all PB2019Rx and the new PB2021 compiled apps as well (including PowerClient and PowerServer based ones).

I am not sure what / why your code is not working without getting getting deep into your approach.

Note however, that from PB release to PB release, some event "firing" orders can change. Maybe that's the issue (just a thought).

Regards ... Chris

Comment
  1. Daryl Foster