1. Andrew Davis
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. Wednesday, 7 February 2024 19:03 PM UTC

Hi 

I hope someone can help, I am having a weird error - with the simplest of datawindows and programmes

I have just installed pb2022 R3 - on windows 10

I have it connected to SQLexpress database - v14.

I have a very very simple 2 column table with a column = id type int and a column =name varchar(50)

i created a grid style datawindow - with just this table and the 2 columns

if i view and edit the data using the window in the IDE - i can insert lines and it updates correctly

when i run the programme - my insertrow(0) - adds the line - i can type in the id and as soon as i tab to the name the new line disappears. 

the datawindow is connected via the sqlca object and i retrieve it okay.

If at runtime instead of inserting a row , i use an insert into script in powerbuilder - it adds the record and can be retrieved in the datawindow 

What am i doing wrong - i have very little experience of MS Sql - normally user other dbs

thanks in advance 

Andrew

Andrew Davis Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Tuesday, 13 February 2024 17:03 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 1

The resolution was really stupid - there was some code in the itemchanged event on the datawindow which was causing the problem. I typed in or copied there by mistake at some point rather than the command button it was supposed to go on The only thing i can blame it on / excuse I have is my lack of being used to the new IDE

really sorry for the hassle but appreciate the support.

Comment
  1. John Fauss
  2. Tuesday, 13 February 2024 17:06 PM UTC
I'm glad to learn you found the cause of the issue, Andrew. No worries, because that's what we're here for. Thanks for the update!
  1. Helpful
There are no comments made yet.
Armeen Mazda @Appeon Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Thursday, 8 February 2024 14:01 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # 2