1. Arnaud Bailly
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. Tuesday, 17 March 2020 06:58 AM UTC

Everything is in the title but let me expand on this a little bit. I am new in PowerBuilder, working on a legacy application that we are in the process of porting to PB2019. As we are working on refactoring this application, I will direly need the ability to write unit tests. I have searched on Google and found PBunit and PowerUnit but both projects seem mostly to be abandonware. 

What are the current options for writing such tests for PowerScript code in PB2019?

Accepted Answer
Armeen Mazda @Appeon Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Tuesday, 17 March 2020 14:52 PM UTC
  2. PowerBuilder
  3. # Permalink

Hi Arnaud,

Those are the only options I am aware of at this point.  Although they haven't been updated for quite some time they are still largely workable solutions.  

However, the issue you will run into is that it's likely your application's business logic is not well partitioned.  So even if there was a well-maintained unit testing framework for PowerScript you wouldn't really be able to take advantage of it.

If you will go through the effort to partition your business logic, I would recommend convert the business logic to C# Web APIs utilizing the automated conversion tools of PowerBuilder 2019 R2.  Once the business logic is converted to C#, you can unit test with xUnit.

Regards,
Armeen

Comment
  1. Arnaud Bailly
  2. Wednesday, 18 March 2020 08:25 AM UTC
Hi Armeen,

The application we have is pretty large and involved, so I am unsure how the conversion tool will cope with such a large codebase. Are there any limitations you are aware of? Is this tool available free of charge as part of the PB license?
  1. Helpful
  1. Armeen Mazda @Appeon
  2. Wednesday, 18 March 2020 14:50 PM UTC