1. Arcady Abramov
  2. Beta Testing
  3. Wednesday, 16 September 2020 04:43 AM UTC

Hello, all

Are there any enhancements in DotNetAssembly and DotNetObject classes and functions in this release?

They are not usable in R2, because of lack of support for nested .NET classes. I.e., if I have 2 .NET classes, which are fully imported into PB, I cannot import a third class, which has the above classes as it's properties.

Which makes the whole feature useless at this time.

Will it be available in R3?

Thank you

Arcady

Arcady Abramov Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
  1. Thursday, 17 September 2020 03:36 AM UTC
  2. Beta Testing
  3. # 1

Michael,

Thank you for your response.

But there is no point writing wrappers when OLEObject does the same exact thing with almost zero code.

Technology from 15 years ago does the thing and the version from a year ago does not.

Can someone please explain to me in engineering terms why this is? I am an engineer, I know that if I can read all the properties of class1, then I am supposed to be able to see class1 it when it is part of another class2. It makes ZERO sense if I do not. 

I am not asking for handling specific .NET things. This is the most basic stuff. Without it, there is no point to DotNetObject class. OLEObject from 15 years ago works better.

Arcady

Comment
  1. Michael Kramer
  2. Thursday, 17 September 2020 22:50 PM UTC
I like Appeon's agile approach of gradual improvements guided by user feedback. I'm sure Appeon appreciates your critique because it helps guide future versions.

You ask why native .NET interop at all when it doesn't met your "basic needs" in "release 1.0"? => Native .NET interop eliminates dependency on COM! User feedback informs PB future development.